Suddenly Salad Review and Giveaway

by Kay Lynn

Summer time means more BBQs and picnics and outdoor foods.  My husband and I had the Betty Crocker Suddenly Salad in the new Greek Pasta flavor recently.  It’s been a long time since I’ve used this product so when Betty Crocker offered a review opportunity via MyBlogSpark, I took it.

I made the salad in less than 30 minutes and most of that was time the pasta was boiling.  It’s really three easy steps:

  1. Boil the pasta  for 12 minutes.
  2. Mix water, olive oil and the seasoning sauce.
  3. Mix the drained pasta with the sauce.

I took the option of refrigerating it and we had chilled Greek pasta salad for dinner with grilled hamburgers.  The salad is easy to make and tastes good.  We are used to spicier food here so next time I’ll put in some salsa or chopped onions.  The box includes a serving suggestion of adding cherry or grape tomatoes which would have made it better as well.

The Greek pasta salad is made with olive oil which I feel better about using in outdoor dining than mayonnaise-based salads. If you don’t like Greek salad there are seven other varieties.

Betty Crocker (through MyBlogSpark) gave me a Suddenly Salad gift pack. They’re also giving another gift pack to one lucky reader.  It includes an insulated bag, Pyrex lidded bowl, serving bowl and one Suddenly Salad mix.

Leave a  comment on which fun summer get together you would like to use Suddenly Salad no later than June 14th at noon PT.  One reader will be selected via random.org.  Sorry but this is limited to US residents only.

To earn extra entries leave a comment that you:

1. Follow me on twitter @bucksome
2. Subscribe to Buck$ome Boomer’s Journey to Retirement
3. Tweet about the giveaway and include @Bucksome
4. Become a fan of Bucksome Boomer’s facebook fan page

Good luck!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 49 comments }

Kristi at Spend Less and Save More June 6, 2010 at 5:48 pm

I love Suddenly Salad & always bring a doctored up version to Summer Cookouts & Pool Parties!

Diane L. June 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm

This would be perfect for a family get-together when we celebrate my daughter’s 19th birthday later this month!

Sarah Elyce June 7, 2010 at 3:24 am

I’d like to serve this at cookouts!

Marcia June 7, 2010 at 4:26 pm

My sisters and I do an annual summer garage sale. I have been providing our lunch for the event for years since I am the only one who likes to cook. Making salads is always a part of this and I have often used Suddenly Salad as a base to be creative with. The new one sounds great also.

Jen June 8, 2010 at 1:34 am

we’re having a party in the park to celebrate winter birthdays, this would be great!

Jen June 8, 2010 at 1:35 am

following on twitter @n4zfk

Jen June 8, 2010 at 1:38 am
Diane Y Graybeal June 8, 2010 at 1:56 pm

This looks like a good thing to take to our linger longers at church.

Diane Y Graybeal June 8, 2010 at 2:48 pm

OK following on Twitter and [email protected] and I now am a fan on facebook. I did subscribe to Buck$ome Boomer’s Journey to Retirement. Thanks!!

Diane Y Graybeal June 8, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Anyway I tried to be a fan but crazy me cannot find the fan button. I did like it tho.

Chelle June 8, 2010 at 6:00 pm

I would love to take this with us on our long week up north this summer. 🙂

Thanks!

Katrina June 9, 2010 at 1:09 am

would be perfect for our big family get togethers….I just love that stuff!

Tracy Harper June 9, 2010 at 2:45 pm

I would love to use this at our 4th of July cookout!

Tracy Harper June 9, 2010 at 2:45 pm

I’m now a fan on FB!

ryan June 9, 2010 at 6:55 pm

I would like to have for 4th of July!

Jessie C. June 10, 2010 at 1:04 pm

I’d use it in our family picnics during summer weekends.

tcarolinep at gmail dot com

Jessie C. June 10, 2010 at 1:06 pm

@tcarolinep twitter follower

tcarolinep at gmail dot com

Jessie C. June 10, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Subscriber.

tcarolinep at gmail dot com

Jessie C. June 10, 2010 at 1:08 pm

tweet.http://twitter.com/tcarolinep/status/15848930585

tcarolinep at gmail dot com

Jessie C. June 10, 2010 at 1:16 pm

FB fan/[email protected] JessieKatie S.

tcarolinep at gmail dot com

Charlotte June 10, 2010 at 4:14 pm

I would use it for one of our back yard barbeques.

Lisa June 11, 2010 at 5:11 am

I would use it for a fun dinner.

Shaw June 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm

For an upcoming family reunion.

shawn113(at)hotmail(dot)com

cheapskate sandy June 12, 2010 at 8:17 pm

BF’s mom’s 80th birthday was in May but she didn’t want to celebrate since she was in the hospital. We plan on secretly celebrating on 7/4 while we celebrate America’s birth as well! Why not have this salad to go with?

Steph June 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm

I’d use this for a graduation party!

Steph June 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm
Steph June 12, 2010 at 9:47 pm

i follow on twitter @desmoinesdealin

mandy June 13, 2010 at 12:47 am

I retweeted your message and fanned you on Facebook 🙂

Beth June 13, 2010 at 5:17 am

I would use it when I have a bbq with my sis and her fiance.
[email protected]

Beth June 13, 2010 at 5:18 am

I am following you on twitter
[email protected]

Beth June 13, 2010 at 5:19 am

I subscribed!
[email protected]

Beth June 13, 2010 at 5:20 am
Beth June 13, 2010 at 5:33 am

I am a fb fan
[email protected]

Beth June 13, 2010 at 5:33 am
Jennifer C. June 13, 2010 at 5:46 am

I would love to use this for all our family picnics!! I use Suddenly Salad now, so it would be great! 🙂
jenn14_85 at yahoo dot com

Jennifer C. June 13, 2010 at 5:48 am

followed you on twitter! @jennjp0518
jenn14_85 at yahoo dot com

Jennifer C. June 13, 2010 at 5:50 am

tweeted as well!! @jennjp0518
jenn14_85 at yahoo dot com

Jennifer C. June 13, 2010 at 5:52 am

tried to become a fan of your page, waiting for approval!! 🙂

Jennifer C. June 13, 2010 at 5:53 am

liked your fan page!
Buck$ome Boomer’s Journey to Retirement
jenn14_85 at yahoo dot com

Christie June 13, 2010 at 1:35 pm

I’d use it on vacation as an easy side!

Chelsea Fetch June 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm

I’d totally use it at our 4th of July party!

milena June 13, 2010 at 11:43 pm

I have a moms get together coming up !

milena June 13, 2010 at 11:43 pm

following you on Twitter

milena June 13, 2010 at 11:44 pm

like you on facebook

milena June 13, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Retweeted the giveaway

milena June 13, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Ib subscribed

Cathy Wallace June 13, 2010 at 11:50 pm

This would be wonderful for a cookout

Cathy Wallace June 13, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Subscribed to Buck$ome Boomer’s Journey to Retirement

Emily Robison June 14, 2010 at 4:32 am

I would love to share Suddenly Salad with my friends at a BBQ that we are planning!

Comments on this entry are closed.

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: